04 October 2017

ADAC and Abarth together in Formula 4 for another two years


  • The German federation has renewed its partnership with Abarth for the supply of engines for the Tatuus Formula 4 single-seater.
  • For another two years, young kart drivers will compete and gain experience on the German tracks.
  • This formula has attracted drivers from all over the world, becoming the benchmark for the Formula 1 ambitions of the young.


The successful experience of the 2015, 2016 and 2017 seasons, led ADAC to renew the agreement with Abarth to supply engines for the Tatuus Formula 4 single-seater for the next two years. Its great reliability combined with the power of the 160 HP Abarth T-Jet engine has allowed many young kart drivers to compete on equal terms at the wheel of a very educational single-seater, offering sensations and performance very close to those of higher category formulas. An experience that is proving to be useful to the young Canadian Lance Stroll, who has taken his first steps in motor racing in the Formula 1 World Championship with this single-seater.


Created thanks to the will of Jean Todt, the president of the International Federation, Formula 4 is intended to offer young kart drivers a real racing single-seater that can bring out the future motor racing champions.  From the outset, Abarth has an important role in this initiative, supplying the 160 JP version of its T-Jet engine, perfect to equip the specially prepared Tatuus single-seater. Moreover, in 2014, the Italian "F4 Championship powered by Abarth" was the first championship organised by a national federation, achieving great international success, with drivers from every continent. As also happened in the first three editions of the ADAC F4 Championship powered by Abarth, which established the German Marwin Dienst (2015), the Australian Joey Mawson, who preceded a very young Mick Schumacher in 2016, and Estonian Jury Vips, this year's winner at the end of a very hard-fought season.


Therefore, ADAC, together with Abarth, continues its sporting policy, which over the years has seen many German drivers earn a place in Formula 1: Sebastian Vettel, Nico Hulkenberg, Nico Rosberg and Ralf Schumacher, as well as in DTM, such as Martin Tomezyk, Pascal Wehrlein and Timo Glock, all from the ADAC promotional championships.



Turin, 4 October 2017



Latest Videos

Advanced Search





Related images

File Attachments


Rights of use

The texts and images and the audio and video documents made available on media.fcaemea.com are for reporting purposes on social media networks, or by journalists, influencers and media company employees as a source for their own media editorial activities.

The texts, images and the audio and video documents are not for commercial use and may not be passed on to authorized third parties.

In addition, see Terms and conditions of access http://www.media.fcaemea.com/info/terms-and-condition

    I have read and agree.